Tags

, , , , ,

top5

Today, the guys in the Goodreads Top 5 Wednesday group have an interesting topic: BOOK TRENDS YOU’RE TIRED OF!  This is a topic about things you are tired of seeing that are trending in publishing today.  Maybe, something that pops up on a lot of covers these days, or the popularity of certain tropes in a particular genre.  There is something out there you are tired of seeing.  This is the time to LET IT OUT!

Life is all about trends.  I’m old enough now to recall loads of trends from fashion to fiction.  Certain aspects of each changing under the pressure of the prevailing whims of the society they are tailored to satisfy.  Some trends I’ve liked and hated to see end, while others could not have vanished fast enough to suit my tastes.  And that also applies to the prevailing trends in the SFF fiction I am currently seeing.

Since this topic is focusing on what trends I don’t like, I want to go ahead and say there are many things being done in the SFF circles that I do greatly enjoy.  More female protagonists, more female writers, more diversity in societies, and many other areas have made SFF a more exciting genre to read.  So before anyone says I’m a “hater” of some kind, please note we are only dealing with the trends I’ve grown tired of.

chosen-one5. CHOSEN ONE TROPE

Long ago, it was always an orphan boy.  Then we changed to an average boy.  Then authors included girls in the mix.  Now, we have used this trope to the point where everyone including the family house cat has been the Chosen One.  I, for one, am sick to death of it.  No one is the damn Chosen One alright.  Our life is our own to make of it what we will.  We become something great through hard work, dedication, and innate ability (a little luck, as well), not a damn prophecy.  Let’s move on from this already.

Read the rest of the post here.

 

